National Ag Day Presents the Charles Eastin Award

Written by NAMA on Thursday, January 19, 2017 , 10:26 am

Deadline is February 1, 2017.

To recognize the contributions of the hundreds of volunteers and leaders in the agriculture, food and fiber communities who are dedicated to increasing public awareness of agriculture’s vital role in our society, the Charles Eastin Outstanding Service Award will be presented to an outstanding individual who has contributed as an advocate for communications between farm and city.

•   The nominee can be any person over 21 years of age.

•   The person may be nominated by anyone active in agriculture.

•   The completed application should be forwarded to the the Agriculture Council of America via email at or submitted online at by February 1, 2017.

•   A three-member committee, including at least one member of the ACA Board of Directors will judge the applications and select the recipient.

•   The award will be presented at the National Press Club on March 21, 2017.

•   The winner will be reimbursed for reasonable travel expenses to attend the annual Ag Day event.

The Charles Eastin Outstanding Service Award is named in honor of Charles “Charlie” Eastin, DVM, who passed away at the age of 86 on January 28, 2011.

Dr. Eastin played an important role as a board member of the National Farm-City Council for many years. He served as the 35th Chairman of the NFCC from 1992-1994 and through the years, has chaired and served on many committees. Through his efforts, Lexington, Kentucky hosted a NFCC National Conference in the early 1990’s. As chairman of the Rural Urban Committee, he worked to build and maintain collaboration between the Lexington Rotary Club and University of Kentucky to host activities to further National Farm-City Council goals during Farm-City Week every year.

Click here to view the guidelines and to download the application.

No comments.

No comments are allowed on this page.

This Web site is hosted by the National Agri-Marketing Association (NAMA).
NAMA is not responsible for comments or views expressed by users.